Working Pilots over age 40+

Doug

Hello everyone,

I'd like to hear some discussion from the "older" members of our community who are working in the helicopter aviation field. My reason: I've worked for American Airlines for 17 years and I'm planning on retiring in 3-8 years. I came to Tulsa in 1987 to be a pilot for the airlines but the jobs weren't there, so I opted to be a mechanic instead and vowed to one day finish my dream. I'm a fixed wing pilot since age 15. Helicopters has been my true dream, so I would like to hear from those of you who started training later in life and what lind of struggles you faced getting there. I'm 43 years old and I'm planning on starting my training within the next twelve months, instruct for 2-3 years to build my time, then retire from American Airlines and go fly helicopters. If anyone out there can comment, I would be most appreciative. I don't want to drop $45,000-$65,000 on training if the prospects of flying at an older age are not likely. Thanks for your time.

Hi, I am 47 and seriously planning on taking helicopter lessons real soon. I have taken a few lessons and yes i am hooked to say the least. Sometimes i wonder if i'm too old to do it but seems as long as the health is good it will be fine. I am so hooked that it nearly consumes me 24/7. I would actually LOVE to finish the training and open a flight training school, as well as some other local contracts to keep me busy and keep the company in the green. i'm located out in Virginia - you interested in a relocation :-). Anyway, I would say GO FOR IT if you have the $$ to do so. If your married how does your spouse feel about that? Mine isn't too keen on the idea for the most part.