Once at your units?

How much free reign do aviators have when it comes to setting up their own training and flight hours. Can pilots go through their command and tell them hey, here is my fight plan, training objective and whatever else they need and take off? Or do you have problems with restrictions from Higher HQ?

I have been an Army EOD Tech for the last 6 years and love it when we have the free reign to conduct our own training schedules/plans and are allowed to accomplish our goals with minimal guidance.

Trying to get PRK done so I can start the application process for flight.

How much free reign do aviators have when it comes to setting up their own training and flight hours. Can pilots go through their command and tell them hey, here is my fight plan, training objective and whatever else they need and take off? Or do you have problems with restrictions from Higher HQ?

I have been an Army EOD Tech for the last 6 years and love it when we have the free reign to conduct our own training schedules/plans and are allowed to accomplish our goals with minimal guidance.

Trying to get PRK done so I can start the application process for flight.

When you first start out, you can make suggestions or the IPs (basicly unit level instructors) may ask what you want to do, but there is a structure to the progression system and you can't really get around that. Sometimes the higher-ups will try to ruin your day, but it hasn't been too common in my unit. You're probably not going to have the freedom of maneuver that you did in EOD (which is part of the appeal). EOD is a lot more of a "small unit" operation and you're pretty detached from field grade officer whereas you're having to deal with the big dogs on a daily basis in aviation.

It's a good move though. I switched over from Infantry a few years ago and I love it. I'm doing the crew chief thing right now, but I'll probably end up putting in a packet sometime soon.

J-