Landing on a ship at sea?

permison

I have a contract opportunity that has landed in my lap through a friend which would have me flying a small helicopter (R22 or Schwitzer) off a ship at sea. I've never done this before but the contract would pay for me to be trained. For those of you who have done this what training did you get? Where and what was flying off a ship like? This would be something like working with tuna boats.

Permison

I have done some flying off ships. Not very tough, but these ships have huge helidecks. They are usually pointed into the wind and the deck has been in front, so always a crosswind approach. I recieved no special training. They are a little tricky to pick up and set down on if the ship is doing much pitching and rolling. I really enjoy going to ships as they always have nice accomodations and good food. Now barges...

Boat flying is just like everything else in this business. Once you get the hang of it, it’s no biggie. However, one should NEVER become complacent no matter what you’re doing…. This is extremely true for boat operations.

My initial training for tuna boat flying (with a 500 on a 250' Martinach(sp?)) was essentially, “go do it”. Although, I was mentored by an experienced tuna boat pilot, all of my training flights were conducted over the ground. Basically, we did simulating deck landings to the ground. This was due to restricted helicopter operations while the boat was in the port.

While I consider deck landings in the top 3 most difficult things I’ve done with a helicopter, after a while, it did become routine. To a newcomer, these are a few things I’d suggest based on my opinion rooted though my experience.

If you have the ability to practice, these are a few things I taught to aspiring boat pilots (disclaimer; the information below is to be used at your own risk).