I knew it was meant to be...

Okay, I'm sure you've all read this a million times, but I figured it wouldn't hurt to share my experience...

I'm a 20 year-old college student with simply no money. In this economy, I can't find any kind of job anywhere, and have ~$20,000 in student loans at the moment. Finishing up my degree in Political Economics. In a year, I will be putting in a packet for Warrant Officer Flight Training for the U.S. Army - I've wanted to fly for as long as I can remember (blah blah blah), and the Army is where I want to do it. Anyway, I decided it would be a good idea to take an intro flight before I start taking the plunge into preparing a packet and getting LASIK, etc. But I have no money, right?

So I emailed all of the local helicopter flight schools in the Seattle area, asking if any of them had a job around the schoolhouse where I could just sweep floors, handle phone calls, clean the helicopter, ANYTHING that would fund an intro flight (and possibly more). Well, I got a ton of emails back saying "because of the economy, we currently have no positions available" etc etc. Except for one. One CFI emailed me back (I won't say who and for what company, because I don't want people to bother him for the same deal), and said that while he has no paid positions available, he completely understands the situation I'm in, how he was in this same situation when he was my age, etc. He said he would give me an intro flight on the house. Obviously, I couldn't (and still can't) believe my luck. Sure gives truth to the saying "Where there's a will, there's a way," doesn't it?