The life as a Contract Pilot " Fire Fighting"

Falko

Hey Everybody,

Today is a slow day here at the Helibase in Region 4 and I thought I share some information about my job doing government contracts such as firefighting, prescribe burning and long line operations.

First of all I have been doing this for about 3 years now so I am not an expert or very experienced like many many other high-time guys here on VR but I thought I still can help you guys to get a better understanding in terms of what to expect being in this type of helicopter industry.

How to get into firefighting ?

First of all you need to have a certain amount of flight hours, working for a company that has a 135,133, 137 certificate and a CWN or EU contract.

For the initial carding check ride you are also required to present some paperwork.

Here are the minimums:

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pilot Requirements:

Pilots shall have logged minimum-flying time as Pilot-In-Command as follows:

1500 hours total time in helicopters.

100 hours total time in helicopter in last 12 months.

100 hours total time in weight class of helicopter offered. Defined as: Small - Up to an approved gross weight of

6000 pounds, Medium - Between 6001-12500 pounds approved gross weight, Large - Above 12,500 pound

approved gross weight.

100 hours total time in turbine helicopters.

50 hours total time in make and model of helicopter offered. Requirements may be reduced by 50% if the pilot shows evidence of satisfactorily completing the manufactures approved ground school and flight check in make, model and series of helicopter used on this contract.

10 hours total time in make, model and series of helicopter offered, last 60 days.

5 hours total time in make, model, and series of helicopter offered, last 30 days.

10 hours total time in non-radar environments and remote locations in make and model helicopter offered.