Female pilot vs male pilot

I am a female pilot working on my CFI. When talking to other pilots about finding jobs down the road, most of them always throw in "well, you being a chick.." They seem to think that me being a light weight female will help me land a job faster then a male pilot. I nee more input then just from the guys at school.

• Like 1

I am a female pilot working on my CFI. When talking to other pilots about finding jobs down the road, most of them always throw in "well, you being a chick.." They seem to think that me being a light weight female will help me land a job faster then a male pilot. I nee more input then just from the guys at school.

• Like 1

Being light weight is certainly a plus for a CFI job, especially in a R22. Later it does not make a huge difference.

As far as the flight school I'm working for is concerned, gender is not a consideration in the hiring process.

Yes being light weight will help when instructing in an R-22. Many of the R-22 CFI job announcements you see will even list a maximum weight. After that it will no longer be as critical.

Kim-

Welcome to the VR club. Get in touch with the original ChopperChick. Make planes to attend the PHPA event at KBUR on the 26th...you can meet and get advice from her in person.

-WATCH FOR THE PATTERNS, WATCH FOR THE WIRES-

Kim,

I always use to think the same thing since it appears to be that way with most industries that are for the most part, male dominant.

That was until I went to HeliSuccess last November and while getting my resume worked on by Chris, had the opportunity to talk to two female CFI's who had been sending out resumes for a couple years and had on more than one occasion received responses saying that they(company they applied for) shied away from females because they were not strong enough.