Headsets and ear plugs?

mrkik

Hi, I am a student pilot with around 7 hours in an R22. Right now I am just borrowing the schools headsets until I can afford my own. Even though the noise is not that significant in these little helicopters, it is still loud. More for my comfort, I have heard of people using ear plugs to help with the noise. ( http://www.faa.gov/pilots/safety/pilotsafetybrochures/media/hearing_brochure.pdf )

If I have ear plugs in my ears with the headset over them, how will I be able to hear the radio at all? That is my main question. Has any body tried this before?

Thanks, I really appreciate the help. If you have, do you have any advice? Such as what type of ear plugs to get, etc?

I'm flying with earplugs for quite some time now, it really helps. No probs with the radio, as a matter of fact I can understand the radio a lot better without all the other noise. I can certainly tell the difference when leaving them out: I have a serious buzzing sound in my ears after 6hrs of flying.

I know a couple guys that got custom made earplugs molded. Just ask any acoustician to do it for you. They don't come cheap ($100) but they're well worth it.

I have never tried the custom molded ones, but I haven't had much discomfort from the soft tapered disposable ones. The old yellow foam cylinder ones and the rubber tripple flange ones bother me after a bit though. Just a thought if you don't want to spend the $100, although if you use them for hours every day the custom may be worth it like Hawkeye said. Another thing I have saw some AF pilots do is using the old yellow foamiesbut not really inserting them in the ear canal, rather they put them in sidewaysin the ear opening. I am guessing the thought was it blocked some of the noise but not quite as much. This was fighter jocks though, and I know from experience the cockpit of a fighter is much quieter than flying in a heli with the doors off, so I don't know if I would try it.

Edited by gary-mike