Which bird for EMS in Desert...?

Dear All,

I'm a FW EMS pilot in Africa (Sahara).

Due to the situation our customers asking us what would be the benefit to have a Helo compare to our Twin Otter for Medevac.

It could take up to 3-5 hours to evacuate 2-3 stretchers to hospital when a cars / trucks accident happen.

We could be sent up to 200nm from a suitable hospital.

In Summer we have 45-50°C outside and we operate between 500 and 2000ft AGL. Day and night, VFR or IFR, single or multicrew.

Our main problems is the DA and hot temperature, then useful load, speed, etc as usual.

So far we operate FW because we could get airborne with 1000- 1500 kg useful load up to 50°C at 7000ft, have 400nm range and land on unprepared runways.

On the closest Airport I have seen a B206L3, the guy told me that after 9AM local, He could not Take-off anymore due to DA and temperature.

My question is what kind of helo could be suitable to fulfill our needs taking in account our environment and mission?

As a private helicopter pilot, I though about AS355, EC145, EC155, EC130T2, B412, B407... but I can't have some clue of performances.

Thanks to give me some clues.

Renaud

The AS350 might work. Keep in mind that helicopters are useful only for landing in confined areas where fixed-wing aircraft can't land. They're slow, inefficient, and have a small payload. In any situation where a fixed-wing aircraft can be used, they're much better, because they are faster, more efficient, and can carry more payload. The AS350, and most of the other helicopters you listed, can carry only one patient, if that. The 412 can carry more patients, but the range is limited, and it's not a fast aircraft.

Thanks for your reply Gomer.

Our customers think in order to save time, to add the capacity to land on the spot.