Why coiled cords on headsets?

ltweintz

Hi all. I'm new to the forum and I'm trying to figure out why they use coiled cords on headsets for helicopters?

I'm was a Blackhawk pilot in the Army and I have no general aviation experience what-so-ever. The only headset I have ever worn has been my Gentex helmet with CEPs or coiled cord DCs when in the back. Now that I'm out, I'm looking at getting into flying again. I have picked out the headset I want, but trying to figure out which cord to get.

So...is there anyone out there who knows why helicopter headsets usually have a coiled cord and why should I choose one way or the other?

Hi all. I'm new to the forum and I'm trying to figure out why they use coiled cords on headsets for helicopters?

I'm was a Blackhawk pilot in the Army and I have no general aviation experience what-so-ever. The only headset I have ever worn has been my Gentex helmet with CEPs or coiled cord DCs when in the back. Now that I'm out, I'm looking at getting into flying again. I have picked out the headset I want, but trying to figure out which cord to get.

So...is there anyone out there who knows why helicopter headsets usually have a coiled cord and why should I choose one way or the other?

A 10' straight cord has 10' of wire all over the place. A 10' coiled cord retracts on itself thus taking up less room. I use my straight corded airplane headsets in the helicopter and have to wrap them around several times to cut down on the cord getting in the way. Same length coiled cord just plugs in and stays out of the way.

It's all about accommodation.

• Like 1

I don't like coiled cords. I use straight cords on my helmet and headset (with extensions, as needed), and clip them to my flight suit, the airplane, or where ever else needed. I've never had a problem in any kind of aircraft.

A coiled cord has more weight handing off the attach point, and I find it annoying when I turn my head.