Warrant Officer National Guard

Hey all,

Some may know me from my other thread, things have drastically changed. My friend from my days in the Marine Corps talked me out of using my G.I. Bill for Flight Training. I'm pursuing, like him, the Guard option. I just wanted to throw this thread up to get a little info for myself as well as establish a timeline for anyone who is interested. Obviously, every experience is different and mine is probably a bit more different than the “norm”

That being said, here’s my background: I'm 26 years old, a prior Marine and a homebred MV-22 Osprey guy. I've been an Airframe Mechanic on this AC since '05 and have worked for Boeing and Dyncorp for this platform.

I started speaking with a recruiter two weeks ago after searching for who knows how long. Apparently, these guys are like ninjas. I ended up going to the Maryland NG website http://www.mdarmyguard.com/ and clicked the “Officer Tab” which then led me to the WO section and CW3 James Halsey who, apparently, is a big wig in that department. After a brief conversation with him he asked what my unit was and I replied “Uh…when I was in the Marine Corps?” I thought why would that matter haha? Anyway, he said that he couldn’t touch me until the recruiter got all of the prelim stuff done first: AFAST, Flight Phys etc.

Once I finally could get meet up with the recruiter I was told to do the Background Check on the NG site, which was a pain. I just finished an SF86 for my job and I’ve preciously held a Secret Clearance so hopefully the investigation won’t be too painful. I’m not doing the ASVAB, my score was good from before. So, I’m waiting now.

I did ask about the AFAST/SIFT and the recruiter was not sure about it, he was under the impression that it was still the AFAST so if anyone has in knowledge in that regard it would be greatly appreciated.

• Like 1