Rescue Line Question ?

Jople

Can you tell me what the situation is, when a rescue swimmer on the line is at sea level and the

line would extend under and across to the opposite side of the helicopter.

How do you deal with that ?

Also;

I just emailed Textron concerning;. . Pilot Simulators, are not programmed for the incident of, "line swing" or "Pendulum effect", is there anyone supporting R&D in this field. I am a free lance designer in SAR development, and would really like to know, also there is no requirement for incident reporting for helicopter pilots, that's a big no-no ! How important is that to you, to me it can not mean anything other than the difference between life and death.

Incident reporting to whom, and for what?

Requirement? You'll need to be more specific.

Certain events have mandatory reports (missing/overdue aircraft, accidents, etc).

The ASRS system is available for reporting on an ongoing basis, and is heavily utilized.

I don't understand your reference to life and death.

A big "no-no?"

Sorry my friend,

the last thing I want to do is seem disrespectful of pilots, that comment was left over from a forum I

said the same thing and the members were executive types from the Helitech group in Linked in.

Anyway what I mean about technical improvement people in the field are to make, without information that concerns incident reporting, that to me is the difference between a development that can "save lives", it is necessary because without the info there is hardly anyway for the people who want to assist and improve to do so.

In this case, the reference here is, . .

I was informed that the incidents of, not easy to control and sometimes unexpected, "line swing",

is not reported, others say in occurs rarely, I don't think there is a way to tell without an official report from the pilots. I myself have seen more than one, "line swing", caught on camera, so I am of the opinion there are a few out there.