Time building in a NEW R44 Raven II for only $225 per hour.

This thread (the main points quoted below) sum up what I believe it wrong with the helicopter industry.

By the way, I am an "outsider" looking in. I do not fly for a living, nor do I want to. I fly for personal business and fun. But I have some acute observations:

This is the ONLY industry I know where people pay to work! This guy needs pilots to do pipeline inspections. He is no doubt being paid from the gas or oil company ... and in his contract he most-likely included the cost for running his machines, pilot time, etc.

Now, instead of hiring pilots to do the job, he wants them to PAY HIM!

Oh, I get it. Flight time is difficult to build ... and some of you may bite at this because it is cheaper than most other ways to build time. But as long as helicopter pilots do not respect their own industry, no one else will and it will perpetuate the problem of low to no pay jobs (like this) and dog-eat-dog mentality.

Can you imagine the medical industry uproar if we expected doctors to perform surgeries just to get the experience (please don't confuse internships - at least they get paid as do most internships in other industry). How about lawyers expected to work for free just to get litigation time? Think of any other industry where you struggle like this to "make it" ... and then after you make it, you exploit other pilots the same way. Even a low-paid apprentice program would be better than the insult of paying to work.

This mindset has made outsiders like me expect things for nothing: Flight instruction is free if a guy wants to build turbine time and I have a turbine .... I can actually charge a pilot to pick up my helicopter from the factory or to ship it from one place to another ... I can get paid from a pilot to have him take aerial photos, while I get paid for the contract from a vendor ... and there are a host of other scenarios where you guys not only work free but PAY for the privilege.