Helmets. Rotorcraft vs. Fixed wing

Rotorhead84

I've been putting off buying a helmet for long enough. I've started looking around and I've noticed that most helmets geared at rotorwing pilots are large and bulky. I know of a few people that use Gentex HGU-55P helmets that are not huge and they seem to like them. However upon doing some reading these are fixed wing helmets. I've even heard that Gentex will not sell you a fixed wing helmet if you tell them you're a rotary wing pilot. I'm sure there is good reason for this. Educate me.

If it helps I am a utility pilot and will sometimes spend 15-18 hours in the cockpit a day in 100 degree temps so I need something that isn't huge or too hot.

*Edit*

Just stumbled upon the HGU-84P. Which is more of what I am going for. Thoughts?

Edited by Rotorhead84
  • Like 1

You don't buy through Gentex, so what Gentex will or won't do is irrelevant.

GovernmentSales, Gibson&Barnes, helicopterflighthelmets, and other sites will be happy to supply you with whatever you need.

I've used a HGU55 for some time. I had a visor housing installed this last year, because I'm tired of the bungee's wearing out, the lens getting scratched, or the lens slipping.

Go with the Oregon Aero liner; forget the TPL or molded liners.

As various sources will tell you, the HGU-55 is designed to be a fixed wing helmet, but it's got a number of options, and there isn't a lot of difference between the HGU-55, -68, or the -84. Same basic shell, shock liner, retention system, etc. The primary differences are the attachments and visor, which don't really have anything to do with protecting you in a crash.

Soft ear cups or hard ones are available, as well as "elephant ears" that have more room (and comfort) but less attenuation. Various visor options, retention options, and liners can be mixed and matched to meet your needs.

You don't buy through Gentex, so what Gentex will or won't do is irrelevant.