How long is where it gets weird?

WolftalonID

So I know the title is rather vauge. I recieved a call months back offerin me a corporate flying opportunity right out of school. However, the owner who called let me know it would be a month or two while they wrapped up transitioning from chartering the aircraft they needed to actually owning their own.

I am aware the red tape setting up anything via the FAA is a nightmare. The shutdown didnt help much either. However, I spent my money to fly, not sit or go back to my old career. I have a new career to pursue. No bridges were burned at the presentation of this job.

I have waited for weeks, had two further calls to check in, no defined date or estimate, just it will be soon. Further, the aircraft types are not even listed as recently aquired, pending, or even registered in the state per FAA website.

I have never used the FAA registry research before, so no telling how accurate it is.

How long before one considers the string along as weird and let it go? Is it normal in this industry to have a job offer not happen right away? Every job in my past, I started working within days or a few weeks at most.

Edited by WolftalonID

I had "job offers" in Belize, the Dominican Republic, Alaska, and Canada before landing a steady job for real. The DR people strung me along for 18 months (I think the paperwork is still pending). Alaska guy took 3mos to find out that he didn't get the contract he need to hire me. The Canadians never had any intent of giving me a job. And the Belize situation is too weird to even get into...the "operator" is now in a federal penitentiary. Good luck!