Anybody use an Ipad in the gulf?

duke

I've been looking at using an Ipad mini in the gulf and was wondering if anybody uses an GPS app for VFR use?

I'm a 206 driver and would like a backup GPS. Our company doesn't always have the nicest equipment, but we're getting there. I've been looking and so far I think that the Garmin Pilot application seems like the best deal. But don't know if they carry our sectional. I've used my full size Ipad in the Gulf before the mini came out and put the foreflight app on there and it worked but not great. It didn't have the correct map either. Adding a GPS enhancer would also help the lag the GPS antenna in the iPad has.

If you guys use one or know someone who does please drop me a line. I'd like to hear what works for other people.

For rig locations: http://helicopterforum.verticalreference.com/topic/16829-gom-platform-gps-file/

I would email the developers of the apps you are looking to use. They should be able to tell you whether or not they have the sectional you need.

EDIT: The link below is most likely where the developers are getting their geo-referenced charts from. Looks like they don't make them geo-referenced for the Gulf yet. A third party company might, but I personally don't know. I also don't fly in the Gulf, so my knowledge here is limited.

You can, however, do what is mentioned in the link above and add the coordinates for your rigs as way-points to a chart that covers your area. Might not be ideal, but it's better than nothing.

I'd still recommend emailing the various developers and see what they can do for you.

http://aeronav.faa.gov/index.asp?xml=aeronav/applications

I use the iPad mini mounted with RAM mount "EZ Roller". I run AirNavPro on mine, it's a great VFR navigation app and does everything your average 296 would do, except faster and better. It's $50 for the app, and a few more dollars for various maps you can buy for it.