Question right before aircraft selection

I have aircraft selection coming up in September and was wondering if I could have a few questions answered before. I am primarily thinking 64, but I'm not sure yet. I have been deployed multiple times as a crewmember so I have some experience with having them for support. I hear that flight hours will be horrible during peacetime, as well as the community are a certain breed. Does anyone have any experience with how bad the flight hours are during peacetime in comparison to the 60 or 47?

Also my wife and I are going to try and do some research ahead of time of colleges around duty stations so maybe it will help me at the time of selection since you don't get much time to think about it. There isn't any website with a list of duty stations for each airframe is there?

Thank You!!

• 5 months later...

What if flight time is a mission requirement? It was for me, and in hindsight, it drove everything about my aircraft selection. I even had contingencies for track selection if my aircraft selection did not work out the way I wanted. I had more than a fair understanding of Army Aviation, and not flying would have sounded the death knell for my Army career long ago. I have been a big proponent of using mission as a selection criteria, but that doesn't nullify any other personal desires a pilot might reference to determine their choice. Some people just don't get to choose, so what does mission matter to them other than as consolation or sour grapes? I recognized after I was training in my aircraft that I would have flown whatever the Army told me to; but, flying was always the key for me. The less I would have flown, the shorter my career would have been.

CW4 (Ret.)

Generally speaking, the 64 gets less flight hours than the 60 in peacetime. In practice, there's no guarantees however.