AF to WOFT?

Hey guys, I'm trying to do a bit of research on this program I heard about from one of my pilots on the flight line the other day. Just a little background info on me; I'm currently serving in the Air Force (2 years deep on a 6 year commitment), and an E3, sewing E4 on in March of 2015. I work as a Crew Chief on F-15s, not sure if that term transfers over to what the Army guys call it, but basically I'm a mechanic. I want to fly more than anything, but I was forced to drop out of college prior to joining the AF due to my father going into horrible health.

I was talking to one of my pilots the other day, and he mentioned the "Blue to Green" Program, and said he wasn't sure, but he thought I could use that to apply for the WOFT Program as well. I could be completely off base, and not even qualify for any of these. But this seemed like the best way for me to be able to fly without waiting, and wasting time by going through flight school first. Most of the stuff I've read applies to civilians, or Army AD. Does anyone have any advice, or links to relevant articles?

Also, if it's relevant, I scored a 92 on my ASVAB when I came in, and I got near perfect mechanical (can't recall the exact score). I also have 90+ on both PT scores, but have never gone up for a flight physical, since it's not needed for my job. I don't have anything particular derogatory on my record, and I am family to a retired Col (pilot) and LT Col, and am family friends with a retired state senator, all of which I planned on asking for letters of recommendation. What else can I do to forward myself, and better my chances?

Thanks for any advice in advance!

The Blue to Green program won't help you, but there is a process to take enlisted Air Force into the Army's WOFT program. If you read this forum you'll find the answers to most of your questions, and even a few active posters who have done and/or are in the process of doing what you want to do.

• Like 2