Turbulence due to heavy winds in the lowest layers

ThomasLineal

Hi everybody! I am Thomas, i work as a forecaster for the navy in Germany. This is my first post in this group. I've looked around in the FAQ's and poked around in google but can't find my question covered there.

The question is:

How is turbulence caused by heavy storm or hurricane force winds in the lowest layers, say below 2000ft gnd, affecting helicopters? Are there any rules of thumb forecasting severe turbulence for helicopters in strong wind situations?

For fixed wing a/c there is a rule of thumb which is: If the vector difference between surface wind and wind at 2000ft gnd exceeds 20 40kt, there will be severe turbulence.

So i'm wishing you all a happy christmas and always happy landings in 2015 and i am looking forward to see your comments.

Sincerely

Thomas

Edited by ThomasLineal
  • Like 1

There's airspace above 2000 feet???

As to high winds and turbulence, helicopters are mostly affected by orographic and similar effects on winds. It gets real sporty in the mountains and around some structures, some places and some winds you just can't operate with acceptable risk. "Wind shadows", reverse and turbulent flows, mountain pass 'venturis', low level operations can get real interesting.