New to the Site and have questions about financing...

Gabe1996

Hello All! This is my first time posting, so if you guys can fill in more information, I'll be glad. (:

So my name is Gabe and I am 18 years old. So I've been wanting to become a helicopter pilot for quite some time. In fact I wanted to join the Air Force branch but then reconsidered joining as a Commercial Helicopter Pilot. This is the career job I'm most likely going to jump into the working world, but at this moment... I'm wondering how would I be able to pay the $50k for training? I've heard that if you join the Air Force, you dont have to pay that amount because they will for you. I also looked into financial Aid, but people have said it's something that most people struggled to pay off.

If you guys may, add anything else.

Thank you!

Hi Gabe,

The answers you're looking for has been posted throughout these forums time and again. But, I can't fault you for trying to learn. Just make sure to do your research before posting, you'll likely find what you're looking for.

With regards to flying in the military: Don't do it because of "free flight training." Put flying out of your mind for a moment and ask yourself if you want to serve in the military (not FLY in the military, SERVE in the military). The military is a path where you should want to be there for the right reasons, and if you're considering it simply because they have something you want, that's not the right reason. Gotta dig deep if you're considering that path.

On the civilian side of things, no two pilots have had the same career path, so you'll never follow another's footsteps exactly, but feel free to take a page out of their book. How to go about raising your training money?

-Start saving now

-Go to college, get a job, save

-Play the lottery

-Save

-Loans (you heard correct about paying them off)

-Save