Myrtle Beach Tours for time building?

I've heard people joke about building hours in Myrtle beach doing tours if they don't want to go the CFI route. I have no problem instructing, I'm just wondering if there is any appeal to taking that route? Also, how are they able to do tours for $20 per person? You are looking at a max of $60 per flight, doesn't seem right.

That $60 might be for a 2 min ride or something in the ballpark. I did tours at one of the East TN operators. We had an intro flight. $10 a head. 3 pax minimum. 1.5 minutes. This was in the jetranger.

I believe the Myrtle beach folks fly R44's and require 500 hours minimum. Truthfully though I very well may be wrong on that as I have no experience there.

The appeal is you could probably build time fast in a season and there is nothing wrong with building time via tours. Some will say experience as a cfi will make you a better pilot then experience as a tour pilot. I believe that to be true but when you're a low time pilot, take the 1st job you can get and fly as much as you can. An R44 tour pilot and a cfi both get paid crap to fly in circles and neither will keep you from advancing your career.

Whay will hurt you is if you only plan to doing tours from the begining and skip getting your instructor and instrument ratings.

• Like 2

They still prefer to hire cfis, so skipping that rating is probably not a good idea, plus you still have to get to 500 hours, 100 R44 somehow.

I would imagine that a 1000 hour pilot with 500 hours of R44 tours would have a better shot at the entry level turbine tour jobs than a 1000 hour cfi who just taught.

I believe Helicopter Adventures claims to pay $2k a month. I don't know what Oceanfront pays.

Edited by eagle5