"Best" career path?

Cod

Hi guys, I'm a low time pilot, currently working on CFI with an ultimate career goal (perhaps 10 years from now) of EMS. My question pertains to career path options; specifically, for you guys already off and running in the helicopter industry--how would you describe the "ideal" career path?

We are all familiar with the "standard" route that most new pilots use: 1. Training, 2. CFI, 3. Tours, 4. GOM? 5. EMS/Utility/Fire/Corporate, etc.

I am interested in knowing the perspective of the experienced pilots out there on what their ideal stepping stones would be if they could do it all over again and call their own shots with their own personal Genie. For example: "if I could do it over again I would press to get my tour job in Alaska instead of Grand Canyon...", or; "if I could do it all over again, I would spend two extra seasons as a tour pilot and build more time...",or; "If I could do it over again, I would just avoid working GOM..." (or, "I wish I never left GOM!") ; or, "if I could do it over again, I would depart CFI duty early, (at 500 hours) and jump to R44 tours before moving to xyz."

There are lots of ways to skin this cat to progress from raw student status to senior captain status, and I understand it's all subjective. But in your perfect world, what's the best (or most-fun) way? Any good shortcuts? Bad shortcuts that are actually dead-ends?

Cheers,

Cod

• Like 2

There is no right way. What worked for one guy may or may not work for you. This business is unpredictable. Your flying career will take you down many many paths; Some good, some bad. They will do that in order to mold you and shape you into a better pilot. Its a silly thing to ask really. Everybody will have a different answer, and maybe thats what youre looking for.

Edited by RagMan
  • Like 1

If I always had the end goal of getting into EMS:

1. Training

2. CFI

3. Vegas tour job with whoever will hire you. (Sundance or Papillon) Fly your balls off for a year.