Breaking into the Utility Market

jmic

Hello, quick introduction

I am a retiring OH-58D pilot, I have 2,900 hours turbine time with experience in mountain, low level (less than 200') and NVG. I would like to become a utility/fire fighting pilot. The problem I have run into is most companies want previous fire experience, long line experience, and previously carded; which I have none of. What are the recommendations for me to break into this market. I have looked at doing some long line training courses offered in Oregon or Florida. Can anyone give some recommendations or insight.

Thank You for the input

Utility and fire flying is extremely fun. I think that's why many people are drawn to it. I have noticed that many utility companies want one of two pilots:

1. Someone who is "turn key" and has already been there and done it with little to no training required. OR

2. Someone who shows promis and is willing to be a low guy on the totem pole and pay their dues.

Fortunately for me, I got into utility and fire by being willing to learn, move, work for less pay (for a little while), etc.

For your situation, I would have to ask if you are willing to do all those paying your dues things to get to be an experienced utility pilot? It's because of this that the large majority of pilots will decide that another sector of the industry is for them…..because lets face it, by the time you have almost 3,000 hrs most pilots don't want to be put into a situation that they know absolutely nothing about.

Long line courses can be good but honestly, I would recommend that you go knocking on doors and see if anyone is interested in hiring you. You will basically be like an apprentice utility pilot for a while.

Best of luck to you!

• Like 1