Low G Entering Autorotation

smoltz

I'm a low hour student training in an R44, I try and read as much as I can, from FAA books, the POH, here, etc.

Today was my first day of training on auto entries. While entering the auto, there is a clear feeling of less than 1G. A couple years ago when I did an intro flight the instructor I had did an auto and I experienced the same feeling.

A bit confused about Low G when entering autorotation. I have read what seems to be conflicting information. Seems like some say that it's normal. "The low-G which occurs during a rapid autoration entry is not a problem because lowering collective reduces both rotor lift and rotor torque at the same time." That's from Robinson SN-11. This makes perfect sense to me.

At the same time, I read something like this "In entry, if the pilot slams down the collective, there can be a bit less than 1 G for a fraction of a second, but even that is not zero g. In short, unless the pilot slams down the collective, mast bumping is very unlikely in an auto." This makes it seem as if low G during auto entry is a technique issue that can be avoided. This was posted by Nick Lappos on PPrune, who from what I can tell is both an expert level pilot and engineer.

What am I missing? What is the best technique here?

• Like 1

It would take a pretty specific situation, in my opinion, to put yourself in a low g condition that would result in mast bumping during an auto entry. I feel like you would seriously have to TRY and make it happen. Be in a climb, BURY the collective, pushing the cyclic forward, and not apply required pedal to maintain in-trim flight. Then again.... even though you're entering an auto here, all of those things are what lead to a perfect storm regarding mast bumping.