Bell 47/Introduction

Canadian47

Hello everyone,

I have been reading these forums for a while now and figure it is about time I de-lurk.

My perspective is a little different from most here in that I have not been (nor likely will ever be) paid to fly. I believe that pilot should always be training so despite never having worked as a pilot, I hold a fixed wing ATPL (Canadian ATP) and Commercial helicopter license. I am however a student of all things aviation and I have learn a lot from these forums.

I fly a 1964 Bell 47G-4 which I acquired about 2.5 years ago. With the exception of about 10 hours, all of my ~200 of helicopter time has been in my '47...most fun I have ever had with my cloths on.

I'd love to hear any Bell 47 flying/maintenance tips or stories you have.

Glenn

• Like 2

Hi Glenn,

Welcome to the forum! I'm stoked you fly such an iconic helicopter. I did my TC commercial with Chinook Helicopters in Abbotsford BC in a 47G-2. Now that I fly full time for a living I look back fondly on those amazing first 100 hours. It seemed like magic everyday learning new things in the hovering goldfish bowl. I had a hydraulic emergency (long story) in the old girl which resulted in 3 cyclic hard overs. Fortunately I wasn't solo and between my 20,000 hour instructor and me we got it safely on the ground after quite a drunken spinning struggle! My advice, remember if the engine quits so does your hydraulic system because the pump is engine driven. So, practise hydraulic off to a high standard so you can flare, level, and land if you have a real engine failure because you lose the boosted controls too.

Awesome machine, have fun, safe flying!

• Like 1

The Bell 47 is a very iconic ship - what's it like to fly? What do you like about it most? What are the running costs like?