The 21st Century Job Interview?

Astro

I have an interview scheduled for next week on Skype. I have no experience with Skype, so anyone have any tips/suggestions?

What kind of job is the interview for?

General tips for online interviews:

Set a professional scene.

Make sure there is no one else in the house, no tv on etc.

Make sure your phone is on silent.

Dress for an interview in person(read:suit and tie)

Ensure you have good lighting and a good camera angle.

Keep the background professional. Blank wall is best. Bookshelves or a curtained window also acceptable. But you want the interview focused on you. Not your Jack Daniels poster.

DON'T skype on a tablet or phone if avoidable. You want the camera on a stable surface so a computer on a desk works best.

i did a Skype interview once from home in a suit and tie. in the interview they had me stand up to show I was wearing a full suit. Not just wearing it from the waist up.

Hahaha, yeah I wondered about that, so I guess I will wear pants! I know nothing of Skype. How do you know you have a call coming in? Do I have to log on before the prescribed time?

• Like 1

Be sure the room doesn't echo. Put a soft light source, ie window light or a table lamp with shade on the table just to your right out of the view of the camera.

Pet peeve of mine is bad lighting and all the things already mentioned. Funny about wearing suit pants. They would have seen my skivvies! Good luck!

Skype will ring you computer like a phone. Easy, it just pops up. Be sure to test it with a friend first.

It'll ring, like your phone, but yes, you do need to be logged in for it to go through.

Treat the Skype interview no different than you would an in-person interview.

- Dress appropriately (head to toe)

- Act appropriately

- Phone off or on silent

- As mentioned, the background will be seen. Keep it distraction free.

- Separate yourself from roommates, pets, kids. Lock the door if you have to.

Good luck!