Looking for a few people to read over my WOFT essay.

Would love it if a few people could glance over my WOFT essay. Respond and I'll PM you. In return, I'll be happy to look over yours when the time comes, if that applies to you.

This hasn't seen any other set of eyes, and I'm frankly having trouble understanding whether this needs to be more like a cover letter, selling myself, or more literal "why I want to be an Army Aviator". Right now, it's geared toward the latter.

EDIT: I'm going to post my draft here so that I can get more feedback. I expect to be ripped a new one, so please don't hold back.

---

I want to be an Army Aviator for many of the same reasons as other applicants: to serve my country, have a positive impact on others, and satiate my love for aviation. But I think it is my determination, as evident by the sacrifices I’ll be making, that sets me apart. I have a PhD from an Ivy League school, a fantastic job, enumerable career options, and the security and freedoms that come with these privileges. Yet, I am here, prepared to commit myself wholly to the Army in return for fewer freedoms and at a sizeable financial loss. I feel that these sacrifices are far outweighed by the value of the challenges I’ll face, the opportunities to influence and lead, and of course the opportunity to serve as both soldier and aviator.

Warrant Officers are in a unique leadership role as middle ground between officer and soldier. In both my actions and by my example, I’ll directly affect my fellow soldiers and -- indirectly -- the citizens I protect. I have populated my academic pursuits with examples of leadership and involvement. In my five years as a ropes-course leadership facilitator I have arguably received an education as valuable as my PhD work. I believe there’s much more I can still do along these lines and this is an asset I’d like to exercise in service to my nation.