Greetings Gents,

I am just getting started putting together my WOFT packet and have a few questions for the more well informed.

1. What are the possible locations in Colorado/Wyoming to take a flight physical?

2. I am looking for a WO3-5 to write me a LoR, does anyone know where in Colorado/Wyoming I could find a few aviators to ask to interview me?

3. I am a prior service Sergeant in the Marines. I have excellent LoRs from my platoon commanders from all 3 of my deployments between Iraq and Afghanistan (2 captains and a major), my BC from my 2nd deployment (retired Colonel), an ROTC instructor who's class I was in while getting my Bachelors (Army Captain) and am lacking the WO. Are these solid Rec Letters, or should I try to get more variety (Current or Former Bosses, College Professors)?

4. Does anyone think having permanent hardware in my foot from an orthopedic surgery will be a major factor? I am still physically capable and regularly climb 14ers and will very soon have a perfect APFT score...

Thank you for your input and time. Much respect.

Can't speak to 2 and 4, but I'll answer what I can.

1. Fort Carson in Colorado Springs is likely where they'll send you for the flight physical (assuming you're in Colorado).

3. That's a pretty fantastic set of LoR's you got there. I don't know how the rules differ for prior enlisted, but going through street-to-seat as a civilian, I wasn't required to have a letter from a WO. I had an Air Force O-6, two O-3s, and a retired O-4. You might as well make your packet as shiny as possible, though, meaning that if you can't/don't need a WO letter, you might as well get a letter from a boss or professor. 6 letters looks better than 5.

Hope that helped.

• Like 1

Just so you know I am also a current civilian WOFT applicant, so any advice I give is from what I have been given or have found online.