Should I purchase a BO105 as a private helicopter pilot?

NZHeli

Hi,

I am a private helicopter pilot from New Zealand. I have around 350 hours in my R44. It's a great machine but I'm looking around at options for the move to a turbine.

To me it seems to tick most of the boxes:
Safety, ability to lift plenty, can carry 5 adults, ability to fly well in our changeable weather conditions, storage space for bags, ample power, reasonable speed. The cost of purchase is far lower than a Jet Ranger, Long Ranger, R66, MD600n, 350BA, EC120b - or anything else that works well as a private machine that will mostly be used for touring. Of course, the fuel burn will be greater with the twin engines but with the big purchase price differential, that becomes less of an issue.

Does anyone have any knowledge or experience with the BO105 (any model)?

Any tips, advice or suggestions please?
Thanks.

• Like 2

Yeah, I've got about 2,500 in the 105. Awesome machine! Probably my favorite helicopter *ever*, which pains me to say that considering my love of the Bell 206.

CONS:

• The ship just doesn't like high altitude. Those four blades are pretty skinny and short - they don't get much "bite" when the air is thin. The 105 is the only helicopter in which I've ever had the cyclic all the way to the forward stop once...and I mean ON THE STOP, trying to keep it from climbing when encountering a strong updraft at 6,500' msl. Took a reduction of collective to get the nose down. Strange.

• The 105 is certainly maneuverable! But be aware that the power can vary a *lot* if you do rapid roll reversals in cruise. Be careful to have the power well down below the limits if you're planning on messing around.