Air Force Flight Engineer to Army Pilot

Hey everyone, I'm a KC-10 Flight Engineer. I'm looking at making the switch to Army Helicopter pilot. I'm curious if any other pilots on here were prior FE's and may have some experience on what the transition is like, what FE knowledge came in handy for WOFT, etc. I guess this would also be a good question for prior fixed wing people as well. As a KC-10 FE, I'm proficient in not only aircraft systems/engineering, but also in IFR, TOLD computations/chart reading, *some* VFR (not a lot of VFR in the KC-10 world, lol), and reading Jeppesen Departure and Landing plates (which ties in with IFR, I guess.) Anyway, I appreciate all the help!

Hey everyone, I'm a KC-10 Flight Engineer. I'm looking at making the switch to Army Helicopter pilot. I'm curious if any other pilots on here were prior FE's and may have some experience on what the transition is like, what FE knowledge came in handy for WOFT, etc. I guess this would also be a good question for prior fixed wing people as well. As a KC-10 FE, I'm proficient in not only aircraft systems/engineering, but also in IFR, TOLD computations/chart reading, *some* VFR (not a lot of VFR in the KC-10 world, lol), and reading Jeppesen Departure and Landing plates (which ties in with IFR, I guess.) Anyway, I appreciate all the help!

Sounds like you'll have a leg up. Most people start the WOFT program with very little knowledge about aviation, let alone IFR, Jepp plates etc. The rated aviators I went to flight school with naturally did very well. Good luck!