Hey guys,

Just wondering if a lot of civilian flight time be beneficial or a hinderance? Ive been hearing both. Like you can't teach an old dog new tricks. I am 28 about to be 29 next week and I am an ATP multi engine rated pilot for the airlines with 5000 hours total time; 4000 of that is Jet time. My warrant officer strength manager says that, it can be held against me because now I really need to know my stuff (which isn't a problem except I'm a noob with rotors). Just wanted your inputs.

• Like 1

As I'm sure you know, flying is different for everyone. There's not really going to be a clear cut answer to your question, so what you've been hearing is true. Some people with prior aviation experience have little to no issue with the Army, others have a lot. It'll be a unique experience. You will definitely have a leg up on the academics side though, compared to those with no prior aviation experience.

Out of curiosity, why do you want to switch from the airlines, especially with your hour level?

• Like 2

Hey guys,

Just wondering if a lot of civilian flight time be beneficial or a hinderance? Ive been hearing both. Like you can't teach an old dog new tricks. I am 28 about to be 29 next week and I am an ATP multi engine rated pilot for the airlines with 5000 hours total time; 4000 of that is Jet time. My warrant officer strength manager says that, it can be held against me because now I really need to know my stuff (which isn't a problem except I'm a noob with rotors). Just wanted your inputs.

It's just going to be a benefit as long as you can accept a new way to do some things, especially in flight school. I had a few ATPs in my class and they were awesome, did awesome and were a great asset for everyone. You'll have a lot of fun.