WOFT question (Flight Physical/ Background check)

Good Afternoon,

This is my first post so I figure a brief introduction is in order, so here it goes. I am 32 and currently serving my 9th and last year in the Marine Corps Reserve. I am an E-5 and currently in the platoon sergeant billet which is two pay grades above me. I have been doing so for the past 2 years. I've also been a platoon commander for one summer during AT (last year with success). I went to college back in 2005 a year after high school and obtained my Private and Instrument rating. I have a total of 231.3 hours (fixed wing). I've always wanted a dual rating (fixed/ rotor). I've always wanted to become a military pilot.

So now that you know a little about me here goes my questions:

I am currently in the process of applying to the WOFT program. I'm in the beginning stages of it. I have to retake my ASVAB and take the SIFT (I'm studying for both every night). I feel like I have a shot at the program but there are two things that might disqualify me and I am curious if I should even continue to try and pray for the best or just give up hope and be a dreamer for the rest of my life.

Question 1:

I have 20/70 with a slight astigmatism in my left eye. I know the Army's standard is 20/50, but is there a waiver or an exception to policy for my eye sight?

Question 2:

It's been 15 years since this happen so not sure if it shows up on the background check.

- I was arrested for stealing a CD when I was young and dumb (17) and was only charged with a Class C misdemeanor. Does this show up? Should I even say yes on the questionnaire packet? If I say yes, would this become a dis-qualifier?

Thank you in advance for your responses!

BG

• Like 1