Lots of specific questions.

Ok so I've done a lot of lurking, searching, and reading on here and I still have a lot of questions that have come to mind. I'll describe a little bit about me in an effort to get the best answers possible.

I'm 24 years young. I'm in good health. I have a good job with a good company (I'm a diesel mechanic for the railroad) that I've been with for the past 6+ years. I make $60k+ a year, have weekends off, come home every night, etc. It sounds pretty good, right? There is a big problem with my job, though. I don't love it, it's only tolerable. I feel like I'm just cruising along and passing the time. I want something more challenging and more fun and I don't want to retire and think, "What if..?" Or, "I wish I'd done this instead.." because at that point it will be too late. I realize if I pursue this career I will move around, I will have odd schedules, I won't make nearly what I make now, and I'm okay with that. I just want more out of life and I want to enjoy my career. I don't believe money defines a person's success. So with that said, on to my questions.

I'm a Virginia native. The school I've found that'd probably be the most feasible (in relation to being able to pay for it while working) for me is called American Helicopters in Mannassas, VA. Has anyone ever attended this school? If so, what are your thoughts on it? I'm not opposed to other schools either. I'm still weighing my options. If you've become a CFI while also working full-time, how long did it take you?

I have a prepaid college tuition plan called VA529, has anyone been successful in using this to pay for their schooling?

What's it like being a fresh CFI? What do you teach as a CFI? Everything? Do they just throw you to the wolves as soon as you become a CFI, or do they start you off with simpler tasks and slowly graduate you into all categories? During a typical day, what do you do when you aren't flying?