Hello everybody. I could really use some advice regarding my situation in how to best become a commercial helicopter pilot. I am Fixed Winged Private Pilot. I'm currently a sophomore attending a 4 year private university with a major in Criminal Justice. After losing interest in the Criminal Justice field, I'm back on track to eventually fly as a career, helicopters specifically. Is it necessary or recommended to have a 4 year degree to be a commercial helicopter pilot? Does an aviation related degree make better or can in just be in anything I might be interested in outside of aviation? In doing so, I'm also interested in joining the US Air Force. Should I complete my college education and possibly commission or enlist, or should drop out and enlist without facing a decent amount of student debt? I would love to serve, travel, and gain some life experience as I've always been wanting to no matter what. I also believe that the Post 9/11 GI Bill can be used towards rotary wing training at certain flight schools, would that be a benefit? I understand that this may sound complicated, but I could really use some guidance since I feel somewhat lost due to the fact that I don't have any connections in the professional helicopter industry. I would appreciate any feedback.Thank you!

• Like 1

For rotary wing aviation off the bat (in the .mil), army is your best bet. Take a look over in the military helicopter section of this page if the armed forces is what you are interested in. It's very active and there is tons of info over there. Army is the only branch that allows one to fly without a college degree.

Mike

• Like 1

• 4 weeks later...

Finish degree (any).

Join military.

Retire young.

Compete for the few available jobs against the rest of us who paid for our own training, with your pension and tons of benefits.

:angry: