Hello,

Like others before me, this forum is a great source for valuable information and help. I have been researching and exploring the forums, but there is not a lot of information on age waivers. I was wondering if anyone had experience with them and if I could get some feed back on the one I plan to submit.

I am a 35 year old active Staff Sergeant in the Infantry. I was in the Marine Corps before, but I had a 7 year break in service. That is the main reason I am so late to apply. Here is my proposed age waiver request:

I had a seven year break in service between my time in the USMC and the Army. It was during that time that I earned an Associates’ Degree in Engineering. It was also when I determined that my true purpose was serving our country. I have reached a point in my military career where transitioning to Warrant Officer is how I can best serve the U.S. Army. Before, I could begin the application process I needed to receive photorefractive keratectomy(PRK) surgery to correct my myopia. In 2016, I received orders to Permanently Change Stations to Germany. My intended Warrant Officer Application was delayed due to an almost immediate seven month deployment to Poland as a part of NATO’s enhanced Forward Presence mission.