Hello,

I'm currently close to coming off a deployment and am close to starting the application process for a number of jobs. EMS seems like a good fit for me due to the mission set (rewarding), stability (family man), and scheduling (flexibility). I'm currently in the National Guard and plan to continue that until I reach 20 years at least, which for me is about 10 more years.

I'm a little shy of most companies minimums with ~1700 hours total time, close to 600hours NVG/Night time, and with less than 100 hours of WX time. I'm an Instructor (CFI/CFII rotary) and have a lot of recent experience. I'm optimistic I may be able to get into the EMS field.

My question to you folks, have any of you have had an experience with NG aviators who also work in the EMS field on the civilian side and if so:

1. Do most companies work with the demands of NG aviators schedules and minimum flight requirements (It shouldn't be much of an issue with 7 on 7 off)

2. Is being a NG aviator looked at as an asset or a detriment during the application process?

3. Are any of the prominent Medevac companies more or less hospitable towards NG?

4. How valued is the Instructor rating, it seems most civilians have a CFI to build hours?

5. Any recommendations for the application process?

Thanks for your time.

• Like 1

I don't know about most states, but it's easier in the AKARNG to be on a hitch schedule than a 9-5 guy, our flight schedule is built around the technician schedule, not for the M day folks. Even though I'm basically TDY 180 days a year I can pretty much fly my full mins, or I can prorate them. All I really need to do is pass a PT test, stay medically ready and proficient in the aircraft. They don't mind that I'm not around that much and am pretty much never at AT unless we're doing something cool and it's a TDY.