GED civilian to WOFT

Hello everyone,

I am a civilian 28 years old wanting to put in a packet for WOFT.

I am highly motivated and dedicated to pursuing this career before I am too old.

But my stats are not that great... I have a GED with 8 credits. It was two 4 credit classes because I played college sports.

My ASVAB scores are in the 80s. Im currently going to get laser eye surgery to meet the standards. Ive had a misdemeanor but my recruiter has gotten me a waiver for it. Ive been studying for the SIFT test for the past 4 months so am feeling very confident in that aspect.

One plus that I have is that I am able to get a few LORs from a former influential congressman (A family friend,would write an in depth letter of my character), another former congressman who would attest to my character, former air force fighter pilot colonel, CW-2, CW-4.

My recruiter is pushing me to enlist first as a 15T and put my packet in during active duty. I am not opposed to that but I just want to go to the route that is the highest percentage for me. I am willing to do anything to become an Army aviator before it is too late.

Thank you for taking the time to read this and please be brutally honest with me.

My 2 cents: dont enlist first. My recruiter told me it would be an easier path to enlist in an aviation MOS and that active duty applicants had a higher percentage selection rate. That is not a true statistic. Things may change in the time it takes to put a packet in, but the last 2 civilian boards had a 100% selection rate.

As for your eligibility, do your best to do awesome on your LORs, APFT, ASVAB, and SIFT!

• Like 2

All signs point to "don't enlist first."

I assume that 8 credits is sufficient for Army enlistment? I know for the USMC it is 15 with a GED, not sure how uniform that is across the board.

I think as long as you are eligible on paper and can demonstrate you are intelligent the GED won't be a show stopper.

Mike

• Like 2