Daily Job for Guard

Hi All,

I am planning to apply for the Guard to become an aviator in April 2019. I am currently an active duty captain in the Marine Corps and was wondering what Guard aviators do for their daily job to supplement their income. I did do some research, however a daily job can vary from being a Tech to an airline pilot. I am looking into GS-11 or 12 positions in communications field (Comm'O by trade in the Corps) which will allow me to transition into the Guard without taking too much of a paycut. My end-state is to fly as a Guardsman and matain the lifestyle/income that I currently provide for my family. Any inputs/comments/suggestions are much appreciated.

I just got my law degree, not certain I'll end up practicing law though. I will say that given that I'm leaving within the next 6 months or so it has made getting a job a bit difficult. I've also tossed around starting my own business. Airlines seems to be more and more common at my unit.

Depending where you are living police or fire (moreso fire) seems to have a pretty flexible schedule with great pay and benefits, and flexibility for military. This is also something I've considered.

Mike

• Like 1

There are a ton of Military friendly companies in the area where I live currently. My current company is aware and on board, they understand (I work in the building sales industry). But I know that in a 30 minute radius, there are a ton of companies that will work with their employees and still provide a great income for those part-time military soldiers.

I know its dependent of where you live, I have a degree in Theology, but only using it part-time anyways....