Selected for WOFT with no flight experience

Greetings all.

So, it's been a yearlong process, but I've reached the end of the path (or the beginning I guess) and I have been selected for Warrant Officer Flight Training. Having served in the Marines, I don't anticipate any problems with the military aspects of training, however, I have zero flight experience. I am relatively smart, and I'm sure I can make it, but I would like to be as prepared as possible. I would appreciate any advice in regards to books or manuals I should be studying, and anything else that could help someone with no flight experience succeed in Army Flight School.

Thanks in advance guys.

• Like 1

There is a lot more activity RE military aviation, and specifically WOFT, in the military section of this website. It's primarily all army aviation. A bunch of former Marines in the program and on this site as well.

Only thing I can contribute is I went the Guard route and I have been drilling with the aviation unit for a few months now waiting on flight school. Granted your mileage may vary, but it's a lot "friendlier" of an environment than the USMC was, at least than the infantry. The organization seems to have more "respect" for the individual. I expect this will vary from unit to unit, but some of this is undoubtedly cultural. Good luck!

Mike

Greetings all.

So, it's been a yearlong process, but I've reached the end of the path (or the beginning I guess) and I have been selected for Warrant Officer Flight Training. Having served in the Marines, I don't anticipate any problems with the military aspects of training, however, I have zero flight experience. I am relatively smart, and I'm sure I can make it, but I would like to be as prepared as possible. I would appreciate any advice in regards to books or manuals I should be studying, and anything else that could help someone with no flight experience succeed in Army Flight School.

Thanks in advance guys.