Critique my Street-to-seat essay?

Apologies in advance if this is the wrong way to go about this. I'm open for absolutely any input anybody is willing to share with me either here or through private messages. Still early in the packet and want to firm this part up early. Thank you.

From an early age I loved flying. While never flying a vehicle myself, the idea of being in control of such a thing has captivated my mind like no other. The unique opportunity to fly helicopters for the Army is one I ought not pass up.

Most of my life I’ve been fascinated with the military, history, and tactics used to decisively win conflicts. With the advent of air power and helicopters the situation on the ground became more complex and allowed for direct support, both combat related and logistically. As an aviator, I would be one of the most versatile assets that Army has, able to move about and do what’s needed at a moments notice both quickly and decisively.

I studied applied mathematics in college, taking various advanced courses where small changes in wording, or values can have a huge impact on what outcomes and objectives are. I was required to attend to the smallest details on a regular basis with often many subtleties and steps to cloud the big picture, but still solve problems effectively. This attention to detail and drive I know would be an asset when flying a vehicle with dozens of complicated systems and devices that all need to work in sync.

The men and women of the US armed forces are some of the finest in the world and any opportunity to serve alongside them is one of the highest honors one can strive for. Being an aviation Warrant Officer is most appealing to me because of the technical knowledge one attains, the ability to really make a difference for the people on the ground in a tough situation, and eventually the opportunity to teach and inspire younger people who come after me with a shared interest in aviation.