• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 polywogkev

polywogkev

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 28 August 2018 - 16:48

I recently heard of an off airport landing area that I'd like to utilize if I can get the owner's permission. My friend tells me that they require you to have a $10M liability policy in place to use the LZ.

I am a low-time R44 recreational pilot (110 hours) and normally rent the R44 through my flight school. While the school has hull value insurance, I would need an individual liability policy to satisfy the requirement. Has anyone ever obtained one of these policies? Where should I start my search (initial google results were not helpful)? Do you think with my hours I would even be considered for this type of policy and if so, what price range should I expect? Note, I would only need the policy for 2 days.

Thanks!

#2 RisePilot

RisePilot

ATP Poster

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 51 posts

Posted 29 August 2018 - 05:12

Private helicopter flying is so backwards in the US; any flight school should already have liability insurance on the machines they train/rent.  

I've encountered this when travelling to the US and seeking to hire an R44.  Try the following regarding renters insurance:

• AOPA
  • Starr Aviation
  • Regal Aviation

• polywogkev likes this

#3 polywogkev

polywogkev

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 29 August 2018 - 10:10

Private helicopter flying is so backwards in the US; any flight school should already have liability insurance on the machines they train/rent.  

I've encountered this when travelling to the US and seeking to hire an R44.  Try the following regarding renters insurance:

• AOPA
  • Starr Aviation
  • Regal Aviation

Thanks for the response. The flight school probably does have liability insurance, but the LZ owner would only grant access to an individual (not another heli company) so I need an individual policy to approach them. Appreciate your guidance!

#4 r22butters