Medical leave, or adios muchacho?

r22butters

As a commercial driver I too must pass a medical exam in order to work.

Recently we had a guy fail his medical, so he can't drive, but the company allows up to three months to resolve the issue, after which he can return to his old route as if he never left. After three months though, he's out, unless he gets an extention, which another guy did, returning last week after a five months medical leave.

So, how about you commercial flyboys?

If you fail your medical does your company give you time to resolve it, or do they just say, "Take a hike Charlie"!

Fail a medical, you are grounded until it is resolved. Your company should allow you to take sick leave, or possibly fill a ground job if one is available.

When sick leave is used up, it is leave without pay, or if the medical is final, there is the door. You were hired to be a pilot, and if you can't fly, bye bye.

It depends on the issue. If you're grounded because of a paperwork snafu (Which I've seen happen) then generally people will fill in for you, use sick/vacation time, etc... If you're grounded because you've got a serious medical issue, or a minor issue that the FAA is still going to ground you for a few years for (Hope you never have a seizure) you're going to be hoping for an administrative job with your company while you kill time. That, or walk out the door.

In a way, this issue is what turned me from an anti-union guy to a pro-union guy. At PHI we pilots were always allowed to accrue sick leave. Then one fine day Carroll Suggs cheerily announced that pilot would go to a "use it or lose it" sick leave policy. They gave us seven days per year. I joined the union organizing committee that day.