How does this sound?

Hey everyone!

So i am currently a 40yr old trucker who has always had the dream of flying helis as a career. Even though the more i look into it, autorotations kinda scare me. Lol and i dont know if i would be able to be a CFI. The knowledge CFIs have is amazing!

But a quick question to get me started..... there is one school in my area here in Washington State and i was told on the phone that they have a program that is like $80k which includes everything feom flighttime 200hrs, books, travel, private, cfi and commercial etc... and the loan would be through sallie mae.

Is this expensive? Does it sound like a good deal/option?

I dont even know if i would get approved for the loan but thought id ask. I have to wait to get down to 240lbs from 270lbs anyways. Lol

Anyways. Thanks for any info or tips!

I'm a 47 year old trucker with a commercial pilots license and about 800 hours, no cfi.

There's only one company I know of where you could work if you don't want to be a cfi and they won't consider anyone who is over 190 lbs! In fact, the vast majority of entry level jobs require a cfi and weight under 190 lbs!

Get your private license, rent an Enstrom or Schweizer, or Cabri (you're too heavy for the r22) on the weekends and just fly for fun. Realistically that's as far as you'll ever make it!

DON'T BORROW MONEY FOR THIS!

Edited by r22butters
  • Like 1

Thanks for the responses :)

I forgot to mention that i would not have to start paying back the loan for 1.5years. And i dont want to do this as a hobby, iwant to leave trucking and do it as a career.

Well, i typically make between 80-85k a year trucking. Made 83 last year but i dont care about the money. I also have no problem losing the weight being a veteran Marine i can change that but 190 just sounds unhealthy. Lol. Ive lost 15lbs already so i guess at least ill be healthier!

Man... paying $300 out of pocket per lesson sounds painful!!! :(