Is the helicopter pilot a dying breed?

First let me start by saying I'm not a helicopter pilot, but I've always wanted to be. In the next 6-12 months I'll finally be able to begin training, however I have some serious concerns about the future of the industry.

Self driving cars and trucks are soon to become more and more prolific. Tesla will begin rolling out self driving taxis within the next 12 months which will make regular taxis and rideshares like uber obsolete and the trucking industry is right behind them. Commercial airlines can basically fly themselves, and the military has had both remotely controlled and autonomous drones for years. As a truck driver myself, I am forced to realize I need a backup plan, and that makes me wonder if spending 90 grand to realize my dream of becoming a helicopter pilot is a wise decision given current events? How long till those tiny camera equipped quad-copters are scaled up and replace the man in the cockpit as the "safer more economical alternative"?

You guys are the boots on the ground, the people with first hand knowledge, what do you think? If you had to do it all over again in today's world, would you? Are any of you veteran pilots already making sure you have a plan B? Or am I completely off base and there's nothing to worry about?

As a truck driver myself I'm not concerned in the slightest about my job being taken by a self driving truck,...though I'm a city driver, not long haul.

As a helicopter pilot I couldn't really give a sh*t.

,...'course I'm 47 and will most likely be dead before the robots take over anyway :)

• Like 1

...Tesla will begin rolling out self driving taxis within the next 12 months which will make regular taxis and rideshares like uber obsolete and the trucking industry is right behind them.....