Priced out of flying! You never know when your last flight,...will be your last flight :(

r22butters

June 4th,...yep, that was it, the last time I got to fly just for fun. I still kinda remember it, a nice fogless night, sliver of an orange moon behind the city. If I had only known it was my last flight I'd of stayed up a bit longer :(

Anyway about a month or so later (just as I was perusing the forecasts for a good night to go up again) the school I had been renting from for the past eight years abruptly closed its doors.

,...and that was that :(

There's only one school left in the area with a 22 and well, long story short, they'll only rent to me if I get my own renter's insurance. Just got the quote from AOPA and now my one hour a month in the 22 will be for the price of a 44!

So that's it, can't afford to fly anymore :(

Sixteen and a half years of flying, where all I had to do was send a text, "Can I get a 22 tonight?",..."keys in the box, have a good flight" Guess I had a good run.

There's an off shore flow right now, that's the best time for a doors off night ride around one of the most beautiful cities in the world,...oh well.

:(

• Like 1

Kind of surprising that you didn’t have to have insurance before. Flight school here tells you that they provide insurance. Yeah it’s provided for them in case you screwup and ball it up. Unfortunately you are not covered so the insurance company comes after you. I could not get them to admit this until I insisted I see their policy.

• Like 1