Flight Schools

Hi all, first post.  Just to let everyone know I am an active student at CSU Sacramento, with two years to go on a BS in Criminal Justice.  I already have an AA degree.  I love helos, and I'd like to fly for Law Enforcement some day.  The school I would like to attend is HAI in Concord, CA.  I am going to visit the school very soon, and I would like to know what questions I should be asking.  I know the Florida Office is FAA part 141 and I can get the financing through the Florida Office to the California school, and that the Concord School is FAA part 61.  I want to fly so bad its rediculous, the mere thought alone of actually taking my FIRST ride ever in a helicopter has got me so stoked I can barely contain myself.  My question is this:  Should I get into the flight industry and complete the training and then do the last half of my studies to complete my degree?  I have a friend in the Army who is leaving for Iraq on Saturday, and when he returns, he wishes to use his GI Bill to go to college, and by then (18 -24 months) I wish to have completed all flight training, as I do not wish to pursue a degree in aviation.  I have also considered this because If I already have the flight training ( I wish to train to CFII ) The department would find me amuch more valuable candidate when I do compete my BS.  Any thoughts on this would be great!  I also want to know how long one could expect to take to complete the flight training at HAI or a comparable part 61 school.  I have many more questions, but I'll cross that bridge when I come to it. Thank-you all in advance for your time!

The Big E

On the surface, I would say finish your degree, keep learning about helicopters and the industry, then if you still want in, do the training.