Helmets on my mind

spankey51

I'm a student pilot flying R22s in Connecticut.

My stepcousin was recently in a near fatal motorcycle accident involving a tree and his head, sans helmet. Apparently, he is in the hospital in a semi-vegetative state. Fortunately, he's doing a lot better, so things may be ok for him. I don't know him very well, but the incident sparked an immediate interest in helmets for me. I've been talking to the school owner and the mechanic etc... and they all have stories about being hit in the head by other heads, consoles, wreckage/schrapenel during accidents, etc...

I'm going for my private checkride on thurstay, then it's on to instrument... I'm into helicopters for the longrun, so I figured now would be as good a time as any to start looking for a helmet.

My plans are to get a helmet and fit it with an ANR system; but I'm having trouble feeling comfordable with my helmet choices...

I want to aim for $8-900 including ANR, so obviously I'm getting a used setup.

Are SPH-4Bs any good? I'm looking at helicopterhelmet.com, and they look head-worthy and are exactly the right price, but I hear SPH-4Bs are really old and heavy. Should I go for an SPH-5 or something? Just looking for a stable investment that will really work in an accident/svr turbulence.

I'm just a kid... and I'm going to helicopter school, so you can imagine how much money I have available...

Any help out there?

Many thanks-

Get any helmet it's better than nothing and don't be put by the people that says it gives a bad impression with the customer's / students, I have worn one for the last 4 years Gentex sph5 with no complaints from any one including employers or passengers, what I wouldn't bother with is ANR wasting your money just buy ear plugs or go the whole hog and buy accoustic ear plugs about 130$ US