Aviation Job in law enforcement/Border Patrol?

GONZO

Hi,

I was a police officer in germany for 4 years, currently I´m a helicopter pilot in the german army with 1000 hours flight time.

Is it possible to get a job in the US as a law enforcement officer or at the border patrol for non US citizens???

Anyone here who can help? :unsure:

Hi,

I was a police officer in germany for 4 years, currently I´m a helicopter pilot in the german army with 1000 hours flight time.

Is it possible to get a job in the US as a law enforcement officer or at the border patrol for non US citizens???

Anyone here who can help? :unsure:

I believe most agencies require you be a US citizen.

• 3 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...

I’m from the UK and I’ve been living and working in Texas for 14 years. As per the last poster, having marketable/transferable skills is a good start but you’re going to need a lot more than that.

The US immigration system is extremely complex, so the information provided here is for general consumption. I’m not an immigration attorney.

The following is the employment/Green Card route that most folks take to achieve citizenship :

First you must find an employer who is willing to sponsor you by offering you employment within the US. The employer will need to prove to the INS that they are unable to find an American capable of filling the position they are offering you.

Once you have that sponsorship you need to apply for a US work visa either an L1 or H1B. The H1B is the better choice because it lasts 3 years with an option to renew for another 3 years. The US government is currently only offering 75,000 H1B’s a year (sound like a lot but they are usually all taken within a few months).