National Guard/Army Reserve Aviation

Greeting all! This is a great website and I've had a chance to read some of the postings here in the mil section. I'm oconus in lovely Afghanistan (kidding about the lovely part) as a contactor, like my fellow Jarheads I too am interested in roatary wing aviation. I've considered the flight school route but from what I gather, sitting in a R22/R44, Schweizer to become a Commercial or CFI doesnt hold much weight as far as experience compared to the Army/Guard route.

Can any of you give me some info on the process? I was honorably discharged in 02, I have my TS and a bachelors degree. Not sure what the cvut off is but I'm 27 at the moment, I'll be 28 by the time my tour in the 'Stan in complete. Should I start the process when I go home on R&R? Also, would it be a good idea to pursue a PPL? I order a few ASA/FAA/DOT books on rotocraft to get a jump on ground school but its looking like the Army is the best route to go. As a guardsmen/reservist, do you have any choice in which helo you fly? (not that its an issue)... I'm a fan of the AH-64, MH-47 (the big boy version of the Corps CH-46's) and of course the Huey (hate the Army got rid of them for Blackhawks- still good helo's) I'd appreciate any advice, comments or suggestions any of you may have to offer. Its hard accepting the Blue to Green transfer :blink: but the opportunities can't be beat B) !

• Replies 82
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Rook,

I will throw my 2 cents your way. As far as NG goes, I'm pretty sure you have to be currently enlisted at the time you apply for it. The reserves are different, they also have the 'street to seat' program. Because you have your degree, you can choose to go the OCS route or the Warrant Officer Route... I would highly suggest the WO route in the Army. And, the cut off right now for age is 32, so you have time.