Question for 67November

I'm interested in becoming a helicopter pilot, but I've been an electronics technician in various fields for nearly 20 years. I was just going to PM you my questions, but maybe your answers here can help others with similar questions.

In general, what is required to pick up a wrench or volt meter and actually be allowed to touch the aircraft?

Given my background, I should think I'd be a better fit for the avionics than mechanical or hydraulic systems in the beginning (I've even built some of the cable harnesses used in aircraft and weapons systems), but what I'm basically asking is for the minimum requirements to get in the door.

My reasoning is, since I'll be switching jobs as I switch locations, why not learn to fix the helicopters I'll eventually want to fly? Wouldn't that go a long way toward making me a better pilot? I should think it would help the rapport with my mechanic if I've been in his shoes.

Thus far, I'm finding a lot more information about the pilot side than the mechanic side, but even the hottest pilot can't fly a grounded aircraft.

***EDIT***

Ok, I've read the FAA requirements for certification. If I understand correctly, I might be able to get into a local shop fairly soon working under the supervision of an A&P certified mechanic. The closest FAA certified school looks to be Helena, MT...but I might be able to get some of the coursework through Flathead Community College extension programs.

I want to fly, but I also want to be sensible about it...hence the fall-back plan.

Hi B.Z.

Rookie101 pm'd me a very simular question.

i try to break this down to the best laymans terms as possible.

let's start from the begining

Basic Requirements to Become an Aircraft Mechanic

I'm a US Citizen. What requirements must I meet to get a mechanic's certificate?

You must be

at least 18 years old;

able to read, write, and understand English.