private or commercial first?

I think I know the answer to this but I am a commercial fixed wing pilot looking for a commercial add-on. Should I go for my private and then my commercial or just get my commercial add-on. I am familiar with the additional solo I would need to go the commercial (35 hours PIC of which known of my dual would count) route but think that would be beneficial anyways. also it will cost me around $1000 to fly (I am about 3 hrs round trip to a DPE) and take my checkride. One checkride would seem better then two. Anyone take the commercial route first? Or do most people just the private then commercial route?

Are you doing this for fun or for a career? If fun, do two rides because that PIC building time you can take family, friends, and not be all the endorsement regs about where & when you can fly.

If you're trying to just get the commercial done and out of the way, you might consider knocking that PIC time out solo because of the DPE cost & delay. However, the commercial checkride--just like the fixed wing one you took--is held to much higher standards and takes extra dual......dual that you won't be receiving PIC time for. And PIC time is very important for insurance & state regs (especially in EMS).

I would call your local FSDO and try to arrange the ride with an Inspector. It might take a long time to get them to fly one in for you, but it'll be a free ride with all the expenses on the US Government. For Robinson checkrides here in St. Louis, they used to fly a guy in from the FSDO in Louisville, KY. After a few trips the local FSDO paid for some of their guys to get checked out in the R22 & R44, and nominated several local instructors to get their DPE. Paying to fly a DPE in is BS.....the FAA has to provide you with an Inspector one isn't [reasonably] local.